Skip navigation

image

(I’m working my way through the Bible backwards, one verse at a time.)

He who testifies to these things says “Surely I am coming soon.” Amen. Come, Lord Jesus!

Here’s what we know so far about this Lord Jesus character:

  • He has a particular kind of grace, which is meant to be upon all (or all the saints)
  • He testifies to “these things” (Presumably meaning the rest of the book, which I have not yet read)
  • He says he’s coming soon
  • The author of Revelation is excited for that to happen

Sounds like a great guy so far. Trustworthy, reliable, gracious, and punctual. What more could you ask for?

I mean.. A definition of “soon” might be nice. If his showing up really is going to be a big deal, I’d like to have a ballpark estimate of the time frame. Not the day or the hour, just.. I dunno, maybe an upper bound. “Surely, I am coming within the next million years.” Would that be too much to ask? Maybe he elaborates earlier.

I am intrigued by the use of Jesus as a credential – the author seems to be implying that this whole thing wasn’t his idea, it was the idea of Lord Jesus . The problem there, is that I have only the author’s word that his words are endorsed by Jesus. Lord Jesus may indeed be testifying to these things, but if he wasn’t, I’d never know. Maybe proof comes earlier.

At least I can be sure of one thing – the coming of Jesus must be happy fun times, for the author to get so excited. I can’t wait to reach the part where he explains what’s going to happen. First guess: Biggest party ever.

Leave a Reply

